/R E P E A T -- RBC Taylor Prize 2019 Longlist Revealed/ - WAAYTV.com - Huntsville, Alabama - News Weather, Sports |

/R E P E A T -- RBC Taylor Prize 2019 Longlist Revealed/

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. Frankly and this Site make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you are affiliated with this page and would like it removed please contact pressreleases@franklyinc.com

SOURCE Charles Taylor Prize

The 2019 RBC Taylor Prize jury announces ten essential titles
that should be on every Canadian's reading list this year

TORONTO, Dec. 5, 2018 /CNW/ - RBC Taylor Prize 2019 Jurors Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGregor and Beverley McLachlin today shared the longlist for the eighteenth awarding of Canada's most prestigious non-fiction prize.

The jury reviewed over 100 books to reach this longlist and state that "It was no small task whittling down to this longlist of ten, and we anticipate many hours of re-reading and debate before we produce our short list, and, ultimately, the winner.

We found the books breath-taking in their range of topics, and happily found so many of them serve as a useful barometer for current issues, from reconciliation to political trust. There is remarkable achievement here and we hope readers will celebrate that with us."

The longlist books for the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize are:

1.   Son of a Critch: A Childish Newfoundland Memoir, by Mark Critch, published by Viking/Penguin Canada
2.   Just Let Me Look at You: On Fatherhood, by Bill Gaston, published by Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada
3.   Jan in 35 Pieces: A Memoir in Music, by Ian Hampton, published by Porcupine's Quill
4.   Lands of Lost Borders: Out of Bounds on the Silk Roads, by Kate Harris, published by Knopf Canada.
5.   All Things Consoled: A Daughter's Memoir, by Elizabeth Hay, published by McClelland & Stewart
6.   Trust: Twenty Ways to Build a Better Country, by David Johnston, published by Signal/M&S **
7.   Seeking the Fabled City: The Canadian Jewish Experience, by Allan Levine, published by McClelland and Stewart
8.   Power, Prime Ministers and the Press: The Battle for Truth on Parliament Hill, by Robert Lewis, published by Dundurn Press.
9.   Heart Berries: A Memoir, by Terese Marie Mailhot, published by Doubleday Canada
10. Mamaskatch: A Cree Coming of Age, by Darrel McLeod, published by Douglas & MacIntyre.

Noreen Taylor, chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation and founder of the Prize, commented: "What an amazing breadth of offerings this year. I can hardly wait to dive into the books I haven't already read! Looking at this list it's definitely going to be a busy holiday. What is so interesting is that this list reflects what Canadians are experiencing, worrying about and/or enjoying currently, and reminds Canadian readers how fortunate we are to have amongst us so many gifted and unique storytellers.

Here's to our publishers and their many distinct imprints for releasing a panorama of fascinating titles, and bravo to our jurors who performed the Herculean task of selecting this remarkable long list from amongst over 100 titles."

Vijay Parmar, president of RBC PH&N Investment Counsel, added: "Once again, we have a longlist that showcases our national collective voice and the power that storytelling has to change our understanding and challenge our perspectives. Congratulations to the 2019 longlisted authors and thanks to our esteemed jurors for their time, dedication and reflection."

Key Dates:

The RBC Taylor Prize Shortlist will be announced at a news conference on Wednesday, January 9, 2019, and the winner revealed at a gala luncheon on Monday March 4, 2019.

About The RBC Taylor Prize

Established in 1998 by the trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation and first awarded in 2000, 2019 marks the eighteenth awarding of the RBC Taylor Prize, which commemorates Charles Taylor's pursuit of excellence in the field of literary non-fiction. Awarded to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception, each finalist for the Prize receives $5,000 and the winner receives a further $25,000. All authors are presented with a custom leather-bound version of their shortlisted book at the awards ceremony. All finalists receive promotional support for their nominated titles.

The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are: Vijay Parmar, David Staines, Edward Taylor, Nadina Taylor, and Noreen Taylor. The Prize Manager is Sheila Kay.

The presenting sponsor of the RBC Taylor Prize is RBC Wealth Management. Its media sponsors are The Globe and Mail, Cision, The Huffington Post Canada, Quill & Quire magazine; its in-kind sponsors are Ben McNally Books, Event Source, Toronto International Festival of Authors and the Omni King Edward Hotel.

To download high-resolution images of the longlisted authors and their book covers please go to: www.rbctaylorprize.ca/2019/rbctp_2019_longlist_covers_and_authors.zip

To download high-resolution images of the trustees and the jury please go to: www.rbctaylorprize.ca/2019/2019_trustees_and_jury.zip

For general information about the Prize please go to: www.rbctaylorprize.ca.

Follow the RBC Taylor Prize on Twitter at www.twitter.com/taylorprize

Like the RBC Taylor Prize on Facebook at www.facebook.com/RBCTaylorPrize

** Please note that juror Beverley McLachlin recused herself from discussion on this title, as she had contributed the Foreword.

RBC Taylor Prize – jury statement – accompanying the 2019 longlist announcement

The jury was overwhelmed by the number and variety of books submitted this year for the RBC Taylor Prize for Canadian literary non-fiction. The books covered a vast array of topics, came from all over the country and were a vivid and exciting representation of the multicultural reality of Canada.

It was no small task whittling down the master list to a long list, and we anticipate many hours of re-reading and debate before we produce our short list and, ultimately, the winner. The jury wishes to stress, however, that every single book submitted is a winner, a triumph of hard work and creativity and incredible talent - and we sincerely congratulate our many Canadian publishers for their dedication and their belief in Canadian non-fiction.

We found the books breathtaking in their range of topics. We also happily found so many of them serve as a useful barometer for current issues, from reconciliation to political trust.

Our hope in releasing this long-list of absolutely exceptional books is that Canadian readers will find them and enjoy them as much as we have. There is remarkable achievement here and we hope others will celebrate with us.

It has been our great honour to serve as jurists in this significant Canadian literary award.

Camilla Gibb
Roy McGregor
Beverley McLachlin

©2017 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 WAAY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.